3rd International Workshop on Programming for Mobile and Touch

27th October 2015, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Co-located with SPLASH 2015


The Third Workshop on Programming for Mobile and Touch (PROMOTO 2015) will be held at SPLASH 2015 in Pittsburgh on October 27th.
Today, mobile devices (e.g., smartphones, tablets, smartwatches, etc.) are the main target platforms for developers. To support the new challenges, traditional programming languages are not enough anymore and new ones are emerging to enable programmers (and even end-users) to develop software taking advantage of the most recent hardware capabilities.
Since the first edition in 2013, PROMOTO has brought together researchers interested in exploring new programming paradigms and embracing the new technologies in the area of touch-enabled mobile devices.
Apart from paper presentations, there will be ample time at PROMOTO to discuss the issues surrounding touch and mobile programming and to plan future directions.


Call for Papers

We would like to invite contributions covering technical aspects of multi-platform development, mobile-cloud computing, social applications, and security. Topics of interest include:



We accept two types of contributions:

Your paper must conform to the ACM SIGPLAN Proceedings format. Submit your paper in PDF via EasyChair.
Accepted papers will be published as part of SPLASH 2015 in the ACM Digital Library.


Important dates

Submission: 7th August 2015   21st August 2015 (Extended)
Notification: 7th September 2015
Camera ready: 14th September 2015
Workshop: 27th October 2015



09:00-09:30 Introduction (Steven Fraser and Alberto Sillitti)
09:30-10:30 Keynote: The BBC micro:bit (Jonathan Protzenko, Microsoft)
10:30-11:00 Coffee Break
11:00-12:00 Session 1

12:00-13:30 Lunch
13:30-14:30 Keynote: Towards More Natural Programming for Mobile and Touch (Brad Myers, CMU)
14:30-15:30 Session 2
15:30-16:00 Coffee Break
16:00-17:00 Demo session (10 min + 5 min Q&A each)
17:00-17:30 Open discussion
17:30-17:35 Closing words



Program co-chairs

Steven Fraser (, Innoxec, USA
Alberto Sillitti (, Center for Applied Software Engineering, Italy

Program committee

Hal Abelson, MIT, USA
Judith Bishop, Microsoft Research, USA
Ruth Breu, University of Innsbruck, Austria
Elizabeth Churchill, Google, USA
Paolo Ciancarini, University of Bologna, Italy
Yael Dubinsky, IBM Haifa Research Lab, Israel
Nigel Horspool, University of Victoria, Canada
Grace Lewis, Carnegie Mellon - Software Engineering Institute, USA
Florian Michahelles, Siemens, USA
Tommi Mikkonen, Tampere University of Technology, Finland
Rahul Pandita, North Carolina State University, USA
Arno Puder, San Francisco State University, USA
Davide Rossi, University of Bologna, Italy
Honna Segel, Alcatel Lucent, USA
Wolfgang Slany, Institute of Software Technology, Graz University of Technology, Austria
Anthony Stevens, IBM, USA
Nikolai Tillmann, Microsoft Research, USA
Kuldeep Yadav, Xerox Research Center, India